moving head light

To many ads? Support ODJT and see no ads!

prodjay

DJ Extraordinaire
Dec 13, 2009
Bossier, Louisiana
If you were going to buy 2 moving heads, which would you buy?

Would you take a chance on any of the Chinese made units?

What is most important feature you would look for? ( bright, weight, )

I guess I'd start by making sure I was ready to invest a LOT of time with software DMX programming to make use of them.

Yes I'm aware of the time it will take and as a note I have some experience with DMX programming from my concert days.

Hey don't you have some moving heads?
I have some small Blizzard Flurries running in sound active master/slave .. not very bright or thrilling. Taso probably has the most experience, but Ross and a few others might comment on the current lights out there.

Reactions: ittigger
I use elation platinum spot 5r's... I honestly haven't seen anything come close to its capabilities... but at nearly $2000 a head and their need for a lot of power (bad idea if you work in areas without multiple circuits). I've owned them since 2012... have 6 of em and still get people blown away by how capable they are. Videographers love them bc they have 2 different color whites... a cool white and warm white, so for those that prefer to shoot naturally, the warm white is best.

Ideally, if this is truly an investment, I would stay away from chinese lights... the optics and internals arent as good. I'd look for lights that have at least a 90w LED if you're not gonna do halogen bulbs. Have a warm white and cool white option, and a spot and frost effect (that forst/wash effect is very useful to me for moments during the dancing that don't require lights to be moving like slow dances, where i blanket the dancefloor in a blue or pink wash). Fast smooth movements are good to have especially if you play a lot of school or teen events with high energy club music.