I won the bid.

To many ads? Support ODJT and see no ads!

MIXMASTERMACHOM

DJ Extraordinaire
ODJT Supporter
Oct 16, 2011
I had to bid for a job with an activities committee on September 2nd. 3 DJs was supposed to bid for the job. There were 2 of us there. Me and another DJ. We both gave the same bid which was something else. I just got off the phone with the committee and they picked me to be the DJ and my partner will do the taping of the speakers.

This is my first time working for this committee and I've never been to the place where the event is going to be. So to be on the safe side I'm bringing the 801p subs. That's great news and that helped pick my spirits up. The dance is only 3 hours long. A piece of cake.

All I did was pray to God and if it was meant to be it was mine. Now I just got to do a really good job.

I found out that the room I'll be playing in is the size of a basketball court. So I have to use the subs for it to sound right. The tops won't be good enough.

Mix, as Shawn said, if you bid on this, wouldn't you have visited or thoroughly investigated the facility BEFORE bidding? It all impacts the effort and therefore the costs. I can't believe the facility is more than an hour away from you, so $20 worth of gas or less, or an hour "on the Google", wouldn't have you guessing if you needed subs.

And a room that's a basketball court in size, probably needs a pair or 2 of delay speakers spread out to cover those sitting farther away, so I hope you are factoring that in. And in a speaking engagement, subs don't help (in fact they can cause issues), so the need would only be for intermission music, and only if there is significant dancing. Speaking engagements are about clarity and consistency.

I was also thinking, depending on the number of people, if it is an actual basketball court, you may need something to help absorb the reverb...I know bodies will help, but usually gyms are very barren walls and everything echos.