I took the van through inspection and found out this.

MIXMASTERMACHOM

DJ Extraordinaire
Oct 16, 2011
1,217
61
I took the van through inspection and it failed. I found out from the inspector that the driver side door has a different vin number then on the windsheild. I was wondering if I should make a fuss about this since the door is not the original door for the van as that's what I was told by the inspector? I'm still paying for the van every month.
 

sonic-vision

DJ Extraordinaire
Feb 6, 2007
1,839
central Ohio
I thought the vin number was on the dash??
 

MIXMASTERMACHOM

DJ Extraordinaire
Oct 16, 2011
1,217
61
I thought the vin number was on the dash??
Ok the dashboard. The point is both don't match up which they should. I haven't had a door put on. So the dealer who sold me this vehicle should have known this and not accepted this vehicle and sell it.
 

sonic-vision

DJ Extraordinaire
Feb 6, 2007
1,839
central Ohio
Doors are sometimes replaced is there not worth fixing.
 

steve149

Veni, Vidi, Lusi
Staff member
Sep 26, 2011
35,748
Prospect, CT
The VIN numbers are usually on the dashboard and on the jamb behind the door .. not on the door itself. Neither piece is easy to replace, so there had to be some major repair work to have those mismatched, like a new dashboard. If you do a search online, you can determine which one actually belongs to your van.

You should go to the dealer and get an explanation.
 

ittigger

Hundred Acre Industry Icon
Feb 1, 2011
13,837
Western Maryland
As Steve pointed out, the VIN is usually on a plate on the dash and also on the door jamb (body) and not the door itself. Mismatched numbers usually mean some major work has been done. Someone should be able to explain this.
 

PhaseIIPro

DJ Extraordinaire
Apr 19, 2015
674
50
On some GM vehicles the vin os on a sticker on the drivers door itself. Macho, Is that the vin number you’re talking about? Would just mean that they replaced the door at some point. The van was used when purchase, correct?

You should have requested a car-fax before purchase.
 

Bob Kreider

DJ Extraordinaire
Feb 12, 2016
194
Kennewick WA
I was wondering if I should make a fuss
No, don't make a fuss, no big deal......just a replacement for a damaged door.
Look at your car registration and compare VIN numbers to those on the dash to confirm the accuracy.

Take care of the bigger problems with your business issues and don't fuss with the small stuff.
 

MIXMASTERMACHOM

DJ Extraordinaire
Oct 16, 2011
1,217
61
Why did it fail? Nj inspection is relatively easy to pass since they switched to the new criteria.
A part that needs fixing came up on the check engine light. So got to get that fixed and that's it. It was a piece that got put back on for an emergency but needs to be replaced.
 

tunes4046

DJ Extraordinaire
Jul 24, 2008
6,242
49
Fennimore Wi
A part that needs fixing came up on the check engine light. So got to get that fixed and that's it. It was a piece that got put back on for an emergency but needs to be replaced.
I see so instead of explaining the real reason it failed you lead us down wormhole of something that really isn’t an issue, that sure is odd for you
 

Scott Hanna

DJ Extraordinaire
Oct 25, 2006
6,583
53
Cleveland, OH
www.djincleveland.com
In Ohio, there are some self serve inspection stations I can use.That way, I Just need to remember to only scan the VIN that's assigned to whatever name I happen to be using at the moment. But, It's hard to keep it straight when the car has multiple vin's 😄
 

wifedj

DJ Extraordinaire
Mar 20, 2008
2,288
My father was a vehicle fleet sales manager for decades and my family had the unique ability to turn our vehicles over on an almost annual basis which provided us with a unique frequency to drive different cars.

Because of that circumstance, my family & I have driven & owned more than 3 dozen, mostly used/second hand vehicles in our driving experience.

In my state we had to obtain safety inspection tags every year and eventually every 2 years.

NEVER, NOT EVER, NOT EVEN ONCE have I or my family and or our extended families, that my father help obtain vehicles, had the truly UNIQUE, RARE IMPLAUSIBLY suspicious occurrence of having differing VINs appear on ANY of those vehicles.

1565035199804.png