CC's South Carolina DJ review!

ittigger

Hundred Acre Industry Icon
Feb 1, 2011
12,527
Western Maryland
Yes that is true, I don't know if the story we were told is true or not. Now if it is true what he said how can anyone of us defend this guy? What I read if it happened that way then that was a hot mess.

Like I said if I was the person shelling out the dough I would have confronted the DJ. I would need a great explanation as to why they disappeared for an hour for me to cut them some slack.

Just playing music is not it. Was it the right music the client wanted? Of course we don't know if it was or not. If the story is true it sounds like to me they just tolerated this DJ. Which is something I would have not done. I guess they just said let's just get this over with and be done. Iwish the couple a happy marriage.
You stated his job was to play music. That's what he did - and he obviously did it good enough that people were dancing and having a good time - which is the opposite of 'tolerating' someone. I know of no one that would dance to music - just to tolerate an unknown performer. Unless you specify the performer to be constantly physically present, then you have absolutely no ground to stand on.
 
Last edited:

MIXMASTERMACHOM

DJ Extraordinaire
Oct 16, 2011
1,088
60
You stated his job was to play music. That's what he did - and he obviously did it good enough that people were dancing and having a good time - which is the opposite of 'tolerating' someone. I know of no one that would dance to music - just to tolerate an unknown performer. Unless you specify the performer to be constantly physically present, then you have absolutely no ground to stand on.
Considering the post the OP made I see how the people there felt. That still doesn't let that DJ off the hook. As Chris said no matter its a favor for a friend or a paying client my aim is to do a good job. I never know who is there that either they will need a DJ in the future or know someone else looking for a DJ. I'm talking doing my best to have the people there have a great time while looking beyond that event.

All DJs here can agree with this. Some jobs we get is because someone referred us. Like it has been said by others here it's highly unlikely someone would recommend that DJ.
 

steve149

Veni, Vidi, Lusi
Sep 26, 2011
31,600
Prospect, CT
Considering the post the OP made I see how the people there felt. That still doesn't let that DJ off the hook. As Chris said no matter its a favor for a friend or a paying client my aim is to do a good job. I never know who is there that either they will need a DJ in the future or know someone else looking for a DJ. I'm talking doing my best to have the people there have a great time while looking beyond that event.

All DJs here can agree with this. Some jobs we get is because someone referred us. Like it has been said by others here it's highly unlikely someone would recommend that DJ.
Remember, we don't even know if the DJ was actually paid .. it might have been a favor to the couple.

You keep "implying that some of those "things" are non-professional, but is it more of a DJ "sin" than sitting in a chair on the stage, placing speakers on the floor, having a wiring mess, etc. I agree the "image" is not ideal, but there are other mistakes made by long term "professionals" equally as perplexing.
 

MIXMASTERMACHOM

DJ Extraordinaire
Oct 16, 2011
1,088
60
I'm implying that it sounds like most of us here could have done a much better job...
You nailed it and for me and the park event, I was just lucky to make it there the pain I was in. I wasn't moving all around on that stage. I was lucky to be able to play a couple of times that day for a short period. My pain that day on a scale from 1-10 was 9 10. I agreed to do the job so I showed up for duty.
 

steve149

Veni, Vidi, Lusi
Sep 26, 2011
31,600
Prospect, CT
You nailed it and for me and the park event, I was just lucky to make it there the pain I was in. I wasn't moving all around on that stage. I was lucky to be able to play a couple of times that day for a short period. My pain that day on a scale from 1-10 was 9 10. I agreed to do the job so I showed up for duty.
Mix .. that's an excuse. You did NOT have to sit on the stage .. off the stage would have presented much better.
 

MIXMASTERMACHOM

DJ Extraordinaire
Oct 16, 2011
1,088
60
Mix .. that's an excuse. You did NOT have to sit on the stage .. off the stage would have presented much better.
whatever man whatever. Song said can't win for losing. If I didn't show up I would get it. I do show up and get it.
 

steve149

Veni, Vidi, Lusi
Sep 26, 2011
31,600
Prospect, CT
whatever man whatever. Song said can't win for losing. If I didn't show up I would get it. I do show up and get it.
What I'm "saying" is, you have no leg to stand on criticizing other DJs for "non-professional" work, when you do some of the SAME things.
 

MIXMASTERMACHOM

DJ Extraordinaire
Oct 16, 2011
1,088
60
What I'm "saying" is, you have no leg to stand on criticizing other DJs for "non-professional" work, when you do some of the SAME things.
Yes I can because I've never done what he did if it's true. I 've never left a job that I was the DJ and stay gone for an hour while automix did my job for me.

Now as far as the last event we did we mistakenly left the facade. My plan was to leave my partner there to do what he needed to do. Then me and his GF go back to get the facade. She said that's not important. I tried to explain to her it is important. My partner wouldn't back me up so I let it go even though I didn't want to.

Everything else went very well. The only other thing is someone moving the speaker. Next time we'll keep them near us so we can see if someone is trying to move it.

There was a point that the lady who was paying us to do our job had to cut people short on making speeches so the DJ could get back to his job which he was getting paid for.

Now it's not that I would have done a better job than that DJ. I just know he did things I would never do or even cross my mind.
 

ittigger

Hundred Acre Industry Icon
Feb 1, 2011
12,527
Western Maryland
Now it's not that I would have done a better job than that DJ.
If you would not have done a better job, then why are you fussing?

I just know he did things I would never do or even cross my mind.
And he may never do things you do - such as sit on a stage while others are performing - or leave wires messy looking or not use contracts or not have a business plan or several other examples.
 

MIXMASTERMACHOM

DJ Extraordinaire
Oct 16, 2011
1,088
60
I just thought of something before I go to sleep in the hospital. How do you setup for E signatures? I'm talking about emailing a contract to someone who has agreed to using your services so they can just sign and not have to mail you back the contract with their signature. Please be kind and remember I'm old school. LOL
 

djtaso

DJ Extraordinaire
Apr 4, 2017
4,150
32
NJ
www.djtaso.com
I just thought of something before I go to sleep in the hospital. How do you setup for E signatures? I'm talking about emailing a contract to someone who has agreed to using your services so they can just sign and not have to mail you back the contract with their signature. Please be kind and remember I'm old school. LOL
I use DJ Event Planner, which is an online database for your events and also allows you to set up contracts with esignatures (you have to upload your own contract though... they don't give you a contract). It costs me $20 a month, but the cost is based on the number of employees you have... so I think for you it'd be $10 a month. There are other options out there though. You could also email them a pdf and there should be a way for them to just sign in their name by finger from their phone or if they have a mac they can save their signature to the computer and insert it where necessary, and then just email you back. That's the free approach, but not as professional as the method I use and others that I know exist.
 

MIXMASTERMACHOM

DJ Extraordinaire
Oct 16, 2011
1,088
60
I use DJ Event Planner, which is an online database for your events and also allows you to set up contracts with esignatures (you have to upload your own contract though... they don't give you a contract). It costs me $20 a month, but the cost is based on the number of employees you have... so I think for you it'd be $10 a month. There are other options out there though. You could also email them a pdf and there should be a way for them to just sign in their name by finger from their phone or if they have a mac they can save their signature to the computer and insert it where necessary, and then just email you back. That's the free approach, but not as professional as the method I use and others that I know exist.
Thanks sir that was great info. I looked online and saw some things. Just when I get well again I got some changes in mind with the business. I won't say what are right now until I see them working.
 

MIXMASTERMACHOM

DJ Extraordinaire
Oct 16, 2011
1,088
60
I say the title is wrong. It had me thinking this was going to be about DJs in that area and not one specific DJ.